Visa Information

VISA Application Process

    • A visitor-temporary visa is required of all visitors to enter the United States with the exception of Canada and the nations that are part of the “Visa Waiver Program.” Currently, 37 countries participate in the Visa Waiver Program:
Andora Hungary New Zealand
Australia Iceland Norway
Austria Ireland Portgual
Belgium Italy San Marino
Brunei Japan Singapore
Czech Republic Latvia Slovakia
Denmark Liechtenstein Slovenia
Estonia Lithuania South Korea
Finland Luxembourg Spain
France Malta Sweden
Germany Monaco Switzerland
Greece The Netherlands United Kingdom


  • Visa may be issued to an applicant up to 60 days before its effective date. It cannot be emphasized enough to start the application process as early as possible!
  • All US visa applications are initiated and submitted on-line via the US Embassy or Consulate web page where the applicant is located and interviewed. Each individual traveler must submit an application. Wherever possible the applications for an invited delegation should be coordinated as a group to help expedite and minimize confusion regarding the intended purpose of the visit.
  • Start the application process at least 120 days before expected travel dates.
  • Click here to start the visa application process.
  • Once the visa application is completed, please do not forget to schedule a required interview.
  • The waiting period can take months, so PLEASE SCHEDULE EARLY!
  • Last-minute visa interviews are rarely accommodated and there can be no guarantee that required clearances will be expedited.
  • Certain applicants may be subject to additional clearance requirements. It is important to note that this clearance process is in addition to and after the regular visa processing period, which includes an application and interview.
  • On the interview date, applicants must present their completed non-immigrant forms DS156 and DS157 (available at, a valid passport, one recent photo measuring 50 mm x 50 mm and a non-refundable visa application fee.